St. Stephen’s

St. Stephen's Anglican ChurchHistory

In 1841 the Rev. Thomas Welby, Rector of St. John’s Church, Sandwich, seeing the spiritual needs of the people of the Irish settlement in the Township of Sandwich South, began service in a building of hewn native oak on land belonging to G.B.Collins near to what is now the #3 highway.

In 1871 a frame church was constructed on the Fifth Concession (now Howard Avenue), and in 1913 the present brick church was commenced immediately to the north of it and consecrated in 1921.

Since that time it has continued to provide the spiritual needs of the community and stands as a constant reminder of our historical past and our visions for the future.